Change means reinvention. Each time a major shift happens in our lives—leaving a job or a relationship, moving, losing a loved one—we have to choose who we want to become or risk never reaching our full potential.

So what does your life look like right now? I am hoping that it is pretty good.

But maybe it isn’t. Perhaps you are tired of rushing around trying to get things done and never having enough time to get all your tasks accomplished let alone have time for yourself.

And what about money? Do you have enough? Or are you living paycheck to paycheck?

Have you become disconnected from your family?

Is life passing you by? Do you feel like you are wasting your life? Do you feel stuck? You may feel that way, but you are not.

Maybe it is time for a change. It is time to reinvent yourself. And I am not talking about just a little polishing and making things a bit better. It may be time to hit the reset button.

Everything You Know Is A Lie

Despite what society has brainwashed you into believing, you are above average. You have a lot to contribute. You have skills and knowledge. You have value.

how to reinvent yourself

There is more to life than just being a compliant member of society who does average work and lives in a cycle of debt, never really getting ahead.

What do you want from your life? What do you want it to be?

Most of us just want to be happy. To feel that we are making a contribution. Will the world be a better place because I am here?

Must seeThis Is The Reason You feel Stuck and What to Do About It

To reinvent yourself you have to make the decision to change. If you are waiting for change to happen you will be waiting for a long time.

You need to create your  new path deliberately and with foresight. You need to create a vision of what you want your life to be. See it. Believe it to be true.

Write your vision down. Be descriptive. How does it feel? What does it look like?

As someone who lives a minimalist lifestyle I feel that if you want to reinvent your life you need to purge as much of your old stuff as you can. Too much stuff and clutter holds you back mentally and physically. It weighs you down. Sell it, donate it or toss it.

See also– How To Declutter and Organize Your House This Weekend

Tell people what you are up to. This acts as a form of accountability that you can now be held to.

Step outside your comfort zone. Try something new. Take a class. Start a business. Build a website. Whatever. Just do something!

Be healthy. Drink more water. Walk more. Do some push-ups. Listen to upbeat music. Read motivational quotes.

Care about your appearance, at least a little bit. Guys especially it seems, tend to let their appearance slide a bit as the years go by. If you dress a bit better you will feel better about yourself. You will be more confident. You will smile more.

I am not suggesting fancy, expensive designer clothes. Just shave and tuck your shirt in for goodness sake. Wear decent shoes. Get a haircut.

Must readHow to Change Your Life in 30 Days

Maybe you need to go all out and sell your house and pay off some of your debt if possible. There are worse things you know. Learn to live within your means. This means that you spend less than you earn. Neat idea isn’t it. Most people somehow spend more than they make each month.

You have a choice on who you are and how you live your life.

Steps To Reinvent Yourself

Try this simple approach to making lasting changes in your life.

  • Create a clear vision for your future.

  • Write about your reinvention.

  • Surround yourself with visual reminders of the life you’d like to create.

  • Break it down into workable tasks.

  • Every day, go back to that vision of you walking toward your future

One definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over but expecting a different result.

It you want change to happen, if you want to actually reinvent yourself and your life, you are the only one who can make that happen.

The Time Is Now

Is it time for you to make major changes in your life and perhaps move on to new turf? If you are stuck in a job or a profession that doesn’t fulfill your future aspirations, how would a major change impact your life and your situation? If you have thought about making a significant move, what will you have to give up or lose altogether?

I say this with complete compassion and understanding that making a major decision will put you in conflict over the possible losses and gains. Can you afford to give up something in order to get something else?

It is all about changing your programming and beginning to believe that there is a better way to live your life.

In order to get out of the wrong place and into the right place, there will be a trade off. Can you be strong enough to withstand the losses that you will incur when you make a big move? You do have your place in the sun and it may change from time to time, depending upon your inner feelings and external circumstances.

Reinvent your life now.

Please share this post and please be sure to comment. Thank you.

“Change the Code. Change Your Life”

3 thoughts on “How To Reinvent Yourself

  1. This article is EXACTLY what I NEED NOW and where I am at .It’s almost scary how much it reflects my situation .It’s a long story but I need to leave a job of 20 years and sell my home to be closer to my boys .Housing market in in the trash can here so it looks like I will need to rent it out .I am terrified to make the move .Job hunting is frightening online .I just have to get moving .I want to move to a diet of rice and beans for health and financial reasons .I take vitamins so I should be fine .There is nothing here for me anymore .I took care of my dying mother .She had cerebral palsy and died last year .I bought my house on a first time home buyers tax credit and my three years are up this April .My ex lied and bullied me and remarried and moved our boys out of state .I was a fool to trust him ,my mom was sick and dying and i dident want my boys in daycare late on nighrs i was working at the hospital .He said we dident need attornies ,that i could trust him ,lol.I have for to get there .I need all the strength I can muster !!!! I will sell everything I can and start over .I do need a job first and renters next of course .Its all very mind boggling .My ex doesn’t want me there and will try to gain full custody as I have already been served papers .I fear if I fail in moving all will be lost .I don’t know how I will go on if I fail so I must persevere .Please know your peice has touched me deeply .

  2. Great post Mark! I’m finding this to be so true. In high school I was one of those guys that had a vegan friend and thought the kid was a crazy weirdo. I’ve been vegetarian verging on vegan in terms of diet this month and love it! I feel lighter and more energetic than ever. I recover from physical activity faster, I’m not tired during the day. Its amazing. I tend to read about and research stuff without DOING much. I began reading about minimalism and simplicity before graduating college but never did anything. Over the past month or so I’ve stopped just reading, started doing, and blogging about it. Life is what you make it. If you don’t like where you are, change it. Whenever someone says this, someone else inevitably fires back that they’re otl and don’t understand that some people have commitments. There are TONS of people that have done this and have plenty of commitments. Look at Josh Becker for Chris’ sake! The man has a family and kids and went minimalist, and its only made things better! Stop listening to the fear and your lizard brain and start living.

Share your thoughts!

